Connecting School life to Real life

Core Skills journey started for most of us in October 2015. The two days session on development of (Critical Thinking) and (Problem Solving) skills through connecting classrooms, had been an exciting roller coaster ride. When I registered for the workshop, I had no idea that some day I would come so far in achieving this objective of imparting these skills to my students.

The training session by the British Council opened our minds to exploring new possibilities and pedagogy for class room teaching. The perception, questioning and group discussions were some of the tools that I used to direct students to the objective of teaching Critical Thinking and Problem Solving.

I decided to take the plunge into this challenge after doing my research. I had discussions with Parents, teachers and learners. We reached a conclusion that once these students pass out of school, they need to be assets to the society. These assets should be able to critically analyse any given issue and reach workable solutions to the unforeseen ones.

I decided to teach (attitude and tolerance) in Value Education class and I integrated it with another lesson in English in which protagonist fails to achieve his goals because of his negative and condescending attitude.

And, lo and behold…my students did me proud when they were not only receptive to questions and participative in group discussions, but also emerged with very viable and practical solutions and suggestions.

What more, they all volunteered to take up leadership roles bringing into play healthy discussions and reaching to decisions on various issues, with their friends, families, neighbours and school mates. The change reciprocated in their turned-up attitude and perception towards other people and experiences, putting them on the broader platform of tolerance and civilization.

I left the class with a smile on my face and hope in my heart. My class 9 rocks!

Capt. Praveen Roy | Principal | Samsara School

5 thoughts on “Connecting School life to Real life

  1. Dr anuradha ahuja says:

    Indeed . Children should be allowed and encouraged to think out of the box .its in their hands that our future lies.Its heartening to know you are so involved in building up of a better society…
    Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes. I strongly agree with this point that core skills are the dire need of the hour. when we have started imbibing values and skills with every lesson on the suggestion of our experienced principal, the impact on the students is visible and overwhelming. They have started thinking with broad perspectives on such trivial issues: honour killings, lavish weddings and intolerance.
    A step towards bright India…..

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

